Liveapi - how to receive clip name

Hi all,

I want to read the name of the clip that is playing in Ableton Live in a specific channel (track).

LiveAPI should allow me to do that easily. However I’m very new to all of this.

The question is: Has anyone tried something with LiveAPI and vvvv? I’ve searched the forum and no one mentioned LiveAPI before.

For those who haven’t tried it yet, but want to help:

1. The LiveAPI is a collection of objects representing some parts of Ableton Live. It’s accessible through a Python script which is put inside a specific folder where Live is installed.
  2. There is one script called LiveOSC, which defines some OSC addresses and arguments, and works as an OSC server (?)
  3. Using vvvv I sent it messages like “stop”, “play” successfully with OSCEncoder and UDP client (port 9000). The requested actions were executed - Live stopped and played.
  4. Using vvvv I listen to LiveOSC messages, like “/remix/echo” (sent when LiveOSC is selected inside Live in settings - when it’s initialized)

The problem I have is I don’t know how to “receive” the answer to a message I send to address “/live/name/clip” with arguments (0,0). I’m not even sure I’ve connected the type and arguments pins correctly. Can someone have a look?

I even managed to change the tempo and “rename” the clip, so I must be really close.

I guess if someone knows python, it can probably be done to send the names of the playing clips in all the channels, at regular intervals (100ms) to a specific port and hostname/ip address. That way there would be no need for this “request/response” that I’m aiming at now.

liveapi test.v4p (27.2 kB)

hello all

dragoljub,
i can’t really help you…cause my OSC, python skills are close to 0.

but do you think it’ll be easier with Live8 to receive these informations ?
i’m currently doing the beta test
but without the Akai apc40 and the Max for Live add-on
damned there’s no VVVV for live add-on…steve jobs fault :)