Teensy 3.2 and VVVV

Hello there!

I am working on my Bachelor project and plan to use a Teensy 3.2 to read 12 capacitive sensors. How would I start if I wanted to read and process the data in VVVV?

Thats my rough idea of what has to be done:
1.) Setting up an arduino program that sends the sensor data to a serial port
2.) Enable VVVV to read that serial port

Am I missing something? Can this be more complicated than I expect, because of e.g. compatibility issues? I am completely new to arduino and everything outside of vvvv, so I’m also looking for an estimation regarding the difficulty of this task.

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

Regards
akkutoaster

it should be as trivial as that, yes.

re 1) this could probably simply be firmata, a generic program that you upload that then can be remote-controlled from a vvvv patch
re 2) in the helpbrowser search for “firmata” for help on how to communicate with a device running firmata

let us know if you have any more specific questions.

1 Like

Thanks for the hint @joreg. I am going to look into this option. For now that answers my question. I’ll be able to do a praxis test in ~2weeks when I have the teensy.

Edit: This is what ChatGPT got me

#include <CapacitiveSensor.h>

CapacitiveSensor sensors = {
CapacitiveSensor(2, 3), // pins 2 and 3 are connected to sensor 1
CapacitiveSensor(4, 5), // pins 4 and 5 are connected to sensor 2
CapacitiveSensor(6, 7), // pins 6 and 7 are connected to sensor 3
// add more sensor pins here as needed
};

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600); // initialize serial communication at 9600 bits per second
}

void loop() {
for (int i = 0; i < 12; i++) {
long sensorValue = sensors[i].capacitiveSensor(30); // measure capacitance of sensor with a sensitivity of 30
Serial.print("Sensor “);
Serial.print(i);
Serial.print(”: ");
Serial.println(sensorValue); // send sensor value to VVVV via serial communication
}
delay(10); // wait for 10 milliseconds before measuring again
}

Regards
akkutoaster