Tearing during video playback with 50Hz

Hi,

i’m new to V4 and totaly amazed :)

I’m working for a videocompany and try to replace our Dataton Watchout System with a VVVV System. But before using it during a Show, i first want to play with it and check if it works well for us…

My first big problem is about tearing http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Screen_tearing

I used a EX9 Renderer, a FullscreenQuad, a VideoTexture and a FileStream2 to play back a 50fps Videofile. The Renderer Fullscreen RefreshRate is set to 50.

While i play that Video a tearing appears for about 1 Minute in the upper third of the Screen. The “horizontal break” slides up slowly to the top. Then everything is fine for about 2 minutes and after that, the same…

I tried to set the Fullscreen Refresh Rate to 60, now the tearing is gone but i got microstutter cause of the Videoframerate is not matching the Screenrefreshrate…

Changing the Presentation Interval doesn’t help me :(

Is there a way to play that Video smooth without tearing ?

Any Ideas on solving this Problem ?

Thanks,
Tobi

have you set the monitor which plays the file in windows settings to 50Hz as well?

ah, and welcome btw… nice to hear someone sees the professional opportunities. as i am working on the video synchronization i would be glad about feedback about technical an/or usability issues.

hm. there shouldn’t really be any tearing in your scenario. can you try this on a different pc and/or graphiccard?

Thanks for your replys…

@tonfilm: Of course, i used a Lightware EDID Manager, to make sure its the right Resolution - 1920x1080@50p.
Thanks for the welcome :) The synchronized playback with a boygroup will be my next project… I will keep you posted…

@joreg: I got about 20 pc with the same hardware, i didnt tried all of them, but a few and they got that tearing :(

EDIT:
Tried that without a Video… The patch attached does the same for me (just at 50hz)

tearing test (4.2 kB)