Streaming 3d pointcloud data

Hi there,

I am a multimedia dev who is just taking his first steps with vvvv. I’ve got an idea for streaming 3D pointclouds over the network, using the DX11-pointcloud pack.

I read up some of the messages from intolight, the authors of the DX11-pack, and they claim that they have published or were working on some networking nodes that would allow for sending and receiving pointcloud data? Although I found the repository, I can’t seem to find them.

What I would like to do is to basically read out the RGBDepth Data + RGB from a Kinect, “pack” it somehow (eventually adding LZ4 compression to minimize the data), send it over the wire, receive, unpack, and display it.

I am using the Dx11 and Dx11-pointcloud packs. It is however unclear to me how to just visualize the two / three streams from the Kinect2:

• the RGB stream (in full HD resolution, 1920x1080)
  • the Depth Stream (16 bit depth data, usually displayed as grayscale bitmap)
  • the combined rgb+depth 3D pointcloud (has no defined datatype yet, as every point would have 24bit color + 16 bit depth data, thus yielding to a 40 bit wide data structure)

My questions are:

• how do I simply visualize the different streams coming from the camera without having to set up renderer? Can’t I just visualize the rgb video data as a texture bitmap somehow?

• is there any compressor node available (similar to LZ4) that can compress pointcloud data in near-realtime? I am aware of a mjpeg node, but have yet to look into it. I am basically looking into ANYTHING that can crunch the data down for me.

• can one create executables (.EXE files) from vvvv patches, and if so, how? I am creating this setup as a prototype and would eventually like to distribute it to interested parties.

• my goal is to merge multiple pointclouds (e.g. 2 kinects2 running each on a different machine) on one machine that then serves the merged pointcloud to interested parties in realtime over the network.