Smooth Video Loop - Dx11 FileStram (VLC)

Is there a way to get a smooth video loop? As the video ends, the FileStream node reloads the video with a little pause. Is there any way to restart smoothly?

I thought with a double FileStream, a crossfader/video mixer, and so on… but i was wondering if there’s a easier and more elegant solution.

Thank you.

there are several way to do that,

1. use a intraframe compressed codec that will allow for faster jumping around in the video.
  2. spread the input of the VLC filestream and play one at a time, so you can flip between them.
    3 make a DDS sequence and use the Player nodes to play the videos back as file sequences.
1 Like

Thanks @sunep . I’m interested in solution 2.
I tried with a Cons(String) as input path to the file stream. Then? How can i “unzip” the texture to a mixer? (Sorry but i’m new to VVVV).

this would be a GetSlice node which gives you one texture of a spread for a given index.

1 Like

You could also give HAP a try.

2 Likes

Thank you @tonfilm !

@sunep, for the solution 3, i’m testing the Player EX9 Node.
How can i play the sequence? Should i use a FrameCounter or Stopwatch to manage playeback? Is there a guide or demo?

@sebescudie thanks. I’m new to VVVV and i don’t kown HAP, but thanks again. I’ll study it.

despite it is really new and even not yet released, i feel hap is the easiest, quickest and most reliable solution.

tbh i never used vlc, because everytime i gave it a chance it behaved very unreliable (timing, playback start, looping, crashing, …).
so i always used player or filetexture (pooled). this is cool as long as your harddrive(s) are fast enough.

4 Likes

Thanks @sebl

Regarding the Loop performaces, i noticed that EX9 Filestream (VLC ) with EX9 Renderer performs well, with virtually no jump as the loop cycles.

If I use (on the same machine/configuration) the DX11 Filestream (VLC) i’ve got a jump/stop at the end of the loop.