Need advise/help to generate pixel precise output - Thnx

I am pretty new to vvvv and try to find my way around and I need advise/help to sove the following problem for an art installation:

I want to generate pixel-precise graphical output to 4 low-res LED panels with a resolution of 24x36 pixels each. The LED-panels are controlled through a control-unit that takes DVI-input.
What I need to do now is to exactly place 4 independent renderers, each in a specific & precise location on screen in order to generate independent output to the 4 LED panels. Also the output to the LED-panels should be exactly 24x36 pixels.

Could anyone give me advise on how to solve that issue? I am puzzled as the EX9 renderer by nature is relative in size…

Thank you so much…

I done this a few times, using a tiny portion of the renderer for an LED screen. I patched you something I would use, hope it helps!!

Trick is, you output a screen with X and Y resolution, and you want pixel price. In vvvv a fullscreen has a Scale of X and Y of 2.

So divide 2 by the real screen resolution, and you have 1 pixel, multiply that with how many pixels you need and you are good to go.

And a final step, you want to stretch the texture so every quad only shows 1/4 of the texture (That is if the 4 LED screens are placed next to each other)

CHEAP LED MAPP.v4p (21.4 kB)

2 hours later I realized the “actual backbuffer width” and “actual backbuffer height” pins of the renderer will give you the exact pixel dimensions of your renderer when in full screen…
(need to set the backbuffer width and height pins back to 0 for this to work)

dear westbam,

thank you sooo much. yes it helps a lot. Not that I have solved my problem yet, but I understand, that my approach wasn’t that far away regarding the basic logic of dealing with pixels (I have attached my much less skilled patch, yet its a bit different as I am trying to map a different renderer on each of the panels).