Morse Decoder

hi!

i have a big screen which displays various binary blinking signals. With a mounted, rotatable camera i want to focus on a square and convert its’ signal back into letters.

http://members.chello.at/stromberger/fassade.gif

If you switch from one square to another, the patch sould read all bits of the old one, and the rest from the new one and therefore create a new letter out of this information.

My main problem is, that i have to synchronize sender and reader manually. any ideas? i’m quite new to this stuff!

greets :) the schlonz

reader.zip (6.6 kB)

I had a look at your patch - what you think about putting synch information in first line of blue bits. You could take first 5 u(or more) upper left bits for your frame number. So, if you read it and 2nd is on, then its frame 2. If 4th is on - frame 4 and so on. Bits 1-5 would give give you a sort od timestamp.
For synching input and output you have to buffer sended frames and compare it with your timecode from input.
Hopefully this works ;D

hi!

thanks for the quick answer, but i think you got me wrong ;)

with “square” i mean just one of the little blue “pixels”.

greets

hi schlonz

the patch sould read all bits of the old one, and the rest from the new one

what bits of the old one, what rest bits of the new one? this is somehow wishiwashi to me.
*the more precise you ask, the more precise the help.
*the more precise you ask, the more precise you help yourself: my personal hint ;).

My main problem is, that i have to synchronize sender and reader manually.

i think your main problem is that you yourself did not define detailed enough what you really want to achieve. i tried to “read your mind” (means: your patch) but without success.

only the title of this thread tells me: it’s somewhat about morsing.

don’t take this as an offense but for help to help yourself!
OK? ;)

SOS
regards
kalle