Kinect2 - Depth Image Mapping

Hey folks,

I’m completely new in vvvv. I want to create a topography map in areas based on the depth sensor of the Kinect 2 and have no idea how to start. I just googled about 2 hours to find something helpful but as a beginner it’s very hard to understand the connection between things here… Does anyone of you has an approach how I could start?
The Kinect already works in vvvv and I get a depth image in my renderer (I guess… it’s just a red/black image?)

Kindly regards

Patrick

2 minutes in the forum search later and

I guess you would want to displace a mash with the depth map…

Thanks… but this isn’t very helpful when you don’t have an idea how to use them with a Kinect; every tutorial is like written for advanced/pros or non-existend (or I use the wrong words)… I just can handle the ultra basics of some animations and the basis “user interface”. I tried it to get work for 2h and I havn’t reached anything :/

I would be very pleased if someone can give me a kind of “roadmap” what steps are nessecery to reach my goal. Not a step-by-step walkthrough; just some bulletpoints that I can google to get closer to my target :)

Here are my ideas how I would start:

1. Get a depth map from the Depth-Node from the Kinect 2 (already done [the black/red stream])
  2. Make it to a texture/Displace as a mesh (however; no idea; no good tutorial found)
  3. Lay the shader on it (however; no idea; no good tutorial found)
  4. Display it in the renderer (one item I know how to do ^^)

Am I far away and are there some tips?

Hope you guys can help an absolute beginner. Thank you!

Look at the DX11 Pointcloud pack, I believe it has a node to generate a mesh from the Kinect depth image.

Once you have that mesh, then you can feed it into the shader of your choice such as one of the Topo examples. I have a DX11 version of the Topo Phong shader above, I just need to post the update for it (the one above is DX9).