Is this possible? Interactive panning inside video play

Hi!

I am new to vvvv.

I have a question or request for guidelines how to approach my task to create an interactive pan inside a video play.

I have one video file.
It is a 4 x 4K video - meaning a video file in resolution size of (4x3840) × 2160 ( 4 4K videos stitched together horizontally side by side)

The idea is to play it with some software player, having either a mouse / touchpad / keyboard entry to pan left and right.

( VLC player has a similar option with its zoom function, but not exactly what I wanted - because the navigation icons and navigation view stay overimposed.)

The idea is to have the vertical dimension locked - and allow only panning left and right while the video would play / loop.

Do You have any idea how to approach and programm something like that?

Regards A.

If your machine is fast enough to play the video, the rest is trivial. Just place the texture on a quad and play with the texture transform.

First get familiar with basic concepts and then read about video playback.

1 Like

Thank You for the guidelines.

Will try.

Regards A.

1 hour ago - my first vvvv install - I was a total vvvv noob.

Now the basic engine works - as sebl guidelided.

Thanks!

1 Like

Hello!

I came to a problem at the described topic of having a 4 x 4K video file in resolution size of (4x3840) × 2160 ( 4 times 4K videos stitched together horizontally side by side)

Not related directly to vvvv.

My Windows device can not play such a long format in X axis.

Also vvvv can not.

As I still would like to have a scrolling / panning effect at presenting a normal 4K resolution and behind running / controlled looping of a 4 separate videos that would scroll side by side and present themselves as “stiched” - how can I program such an effect?

With multiple file streams, translate nodes with controlled values ( X positions) and only one Quad / renderer?

I am such a noob.

Thanks and regards,
A