How to make adaptive process nodes work

I want to implement an adaptive node. As far as I can tell I followed the instructions in the gray book but the nodes don’t get resolved. Only difference I know of, the gray book only talks about operations I need/used processes though. Are process nodes not supported?

Tested with 5.0 stable.

Adaptive

AdaptiveTest.vl (18.9 KB)

Ok seems to be the case. Works when using operations.

AdaptiveOperations.vl (14.0 KB)

Adaptive process are not supported, I recently ran into the same issue.
See @gregsn s extensive answer here

1 Like

@gregsn

Is it the way it is, just because it was decided so or is there a technical reason for it?

Let’s say I want to build something like a “TextureFX chain” in Fuse.
I am pretty new to Fuse but afaict once data enters the Fuse world it’s passed arround as ShaderNode<T>.

When for example a texture gets sampled the result is ShaderNode<Vector4>.
Now one can pass around that result and operate on it, let’s say invert the colors, so far so good.
But some (a lot) of effects like a Blur need to (multi)sample from a texture, so they won’t work with a ShaderNode input.

Thus a way to be able to build a chain of such effects would be to have them all have a texture input from which they sample to ShaderNode<Vector4>, operate on that value and then ouput it again as texture by using RenderTexture [Fuse]. But my guess is, going back and forth like this is going to have a performance impact.

Another approach, a implementation for every input / output type combination
so the user can still make “arbitrary” chains:

In case of an Invert (which doesn’t need to sample):

• ShaderNode<Vector4>ShaderNode<Vector4>
  • TextureTexture
  • ShaderNode<Vector4>Texture
  • TextureShaderNode<Vector4>

In case of a Blur (which needs to sample from a texture):

• TextureTexture
  • TextureShaderNode<Vector4>