Help regarding OpenCV

Hey there!
I’m new to vvvv so please bear with me. I wanted to make face filters (like snapchat) and made two “filters” with Skia (bubbles and hearts).
Now I wanted to make one with openCV (f.e. backroundblur or blur the face (in a rectangle f.e.)) but no idea how to interact with the blur and the camera.
I basically used the “detect faces” example of opencv and only added the blur…
Help please!

(I tried uploading it, but it won’t let me as my account is new)
OpenCV part: Imgur: The magic of the Internet
rest filters: Imgur: The magic of the Internet

1 Like

Hi @ChiikiBreeki, welcome to the forums!

So I am not sure if I am understanding your intent correctly, but to give you a bit of an idea of how things are working:

The face detection mechanism in OpenCV only gives you a rectangle surrounding the detected face, which is probably not detailed enough for you to pull off a face filter like the ones you’ve seen on snapchat and others.

For a better result, you probably want to look at the help patch titled: “Detect Face Landmarks” in the OpenCV section. That will give you a much more detailed set of face points which you can then combine with something like what is shown in “Find the convex hull surrounding a pointcloud” to get a polygon that fits on the face, and use that as a mask to blur/unblur etc. (“Apply a mask to an image”).

Hope that sets you on the right track and of course, come back and share your results when you are done :)

Cheers!

Tyvm @ravazquez!
You perfectly got my question, I managed to make the convex hull around my face (took a while to find after which node etc. to bind it) but I can’t manage the mask-part as even with an image, as soon as I put my hull and f.e. an image, I get an error…
Error: Imgur: The magic of the Internet
Whole nodes: Imgur: The magic of the Internet

It doesn’t matter what mask I try out but maybe I am just thinking wrongly… do you maybe have an idea?

Hey @ChiikiBreeki ,