Framelock Genlock and Sync

Hello everyone!

It is August, not a lot of events happening so its time to play around.
Got my media servers at the studio and i have a question.

IS there built in functionality in vvvv for Genlock/Framelock via the Quadro Sync modules or one has to patch it himself?

as i understand it, if you genlock your cards, vvvv is also genlocked. you only need to generate the same frame number on all instances for animations that need it.

Heya !
Sorry for the late replay .

Reading around it seems it is not as simple.
I am no coder in any way so i may sound dumb here but yeah.
According to Nvidia for buttery smooth synchronized machines they use something called swapsync in DX9/11 and OpenGL.
All this with certain profile in the graphics driver - Vsync stuff and so on.

Seems not a lot of software support it. What i have found to work with it is Ventuz, VIZ RT series and a few other broadcast softwares.

Do you got documentation on that swapsync stuff? I can only find vague descriptions from real old looking nvidia websites…

Afaik for framelocking its enough to hook up a clock generator (Aja, Blackmagic, Rosendahl, something like that) to the Quadro Sync Boards and configurate the Genlock/Framelock in the nvidia drivers.

To my knowledge, you can create a swapsync group, which makes sure that if one of the members of the group isn’t able to finish rendering a frame in time, all of the members of the group drop a frame. Or the other way round, only if all members render in time, they swap their buffers to present that frame.
Like this you can make a cluster really behave like one monitor, where, if the slowest member of the group can’t keep up, all do drop frames.
If I recall correctly, this is part of the nvidia and amd Framelock APIs, and works only in the daisy-chained clocking scenarios over these RJ45 connectors. It doesn’t work with simple genlock.