Fiducial tracking - custom patterns ...?

Hi. I’m completely new in the field of image tracking, so i beg your patience here ;-)

I am trying to do fiducial tracking on a new project. I tested the “FiducialTracker” example and it seems to be working alright when i use the reactivision fiducial patterns (image 1)

fidu

now my question is: how can i use other fiducial patterns, like this one (image 2) ?

fiducial_test

how would i create a “map” or “dictionary” for the tracker to recognize patterns like these ? and how would i feed it to the “FiducialTracker” node, so that it uses them ? is that even possible with this node ?

or on a more general level: are there other probably better tracking options in vvvv for my custom patterns, as shown in image 2 ?

thanks for any hints !

best

oliver

Hi Oliver,

I don’t have a good answer for you at the moment but its something I\m looking into to.

For now you’ll need to create a Haarscade xml file, which is a process you’l probably have to do with a seperate tool. There is a tutorial here for how to produce one, but it isn’t for the faint hearted.

Thanks a lot for your explanations. Will look into it, but on first sight this seems to exceed my programming abilities ;-) plus it seems to be directed towards face recognition, which is not what i am after, i would need something much more simpler.

but then: even if i would succeed in creating such a .xml file (or use an existing one as a reference): how would i let the “FiducialTracker” node use it ? if the fiducial patterns that this node recognizes are hardcoded (so it seems), it wouldn’t be worth the effort.

So, again a question to the forum: are there other pattern/object tracking methods (not color or light !) in vvvv that i am not aware of ? like loading an (image) file with patterns that are then recognized by a node and mapped to IDs (like the “fiducial” node - only with customized patterns ?)

thanks again for any thoughts on this