Controlling A Digital Potentiometer with VVVV & Lattepanda

Hi all,

I have a project where it’d be useful to control some electronics from my computer via a digital potentiometer. My plan is to send an OSC message from my main computer to VVVV on my Lattepanda, then convert the data via the inbuilt arduino into something that my digital pot can process using the SPI interface.

I’m fairly new to the arduino side of things, and I’m not really sure what the simplest way to implement this is. There are tutorials online describing how to communicate with digital pots over SPI, but I’m not sure how best to get OSC data into the arduino program from my main rig. I’d rather do as much in VVVV as possible since that’s what I’m familiar with.

I’ve noticed that VVVV has nodes for writing I2C data, but not SPI. If it’s simpler, it shouldn’t be too hard for me to find some different digital pots that communicate over I2C instead.

Does anyone have experience with this kind of thing?

Hi, I don’t think that SPI should represent a problem, given this scheme

OSC (Main PC) > VVVV (Lattepanda) <> I2C <> MCU <> SPI <> Digital Potentiometer

As I imagine this, whatever the protocol used to communicate between vvvv and mcu, you would connect multiple cables between MCU board and digipot, and you would communicate from MCU to digipot via SPI.h library (e.g.).
So I2C and SPI, although communicating with the same MCU, should refer to different circuits; you should consider the MCU in the middle, able to manage both protocols.

You should have all the relevant pins free to use for both protocols.

Please post the link to digipot docs, too.

Hi featherfurl,

the simplest way is indeed to find an I2C digital potentiometer.
Then you can talk to it directly from VVVV running on LattePanda (via its onboard Arduino).

Check the I2C tutorial in the latest Alphas.
(girlpower\VL\IO\Firmata\00_Basics\06-I2C.v4p)

The thing is that Firmata protocol supports only I2C at the moment.