The setting is off after restarting. Tested in 2021.4.11-1339
Can’t confirm. After setting it to true it is on after a restart, which can also be seen by opening the settings file manually (Documents/vvvv/gamma/settings.xml). Maybe you were switching between preview and release builds? They use different settings files.
Found the problem, if you open an older version that didn’t have this setting, the entry gets deleted. So the older version overwrites the settings file in any case, even if no setting was changed. That feels like a bug.
So the settings file should only be changed if a setting gets changed, and if so, entries that are not available in a vvvversion should not be deleted.