Beta vs alpha vs gamma and why to switch?

I’ve been using vvvv for a few years, but still not pretty sure about versions!!

i try to use updated 64x beta all the time, but my question would be maybe for devvvvs? when to use alpha or gamma ? or maybe the question could be it does have sense keep using x64 beta ?

i don’t code too much, i use mostly graphics and projection with simple interaction patches.

thanks

hey alex,

Alphas are development versions that contain new features that did mot make it in beta yet, but are considered not stable enough for production. You can use them if you wanna test a new feature that’s being developed but not finished yet.

Gamma on the other hand is a version of vvvv that only comes with the VL programming language (meaning no “classic vvvv” at all). Right now it’s in preview state, which means that it’s not stable enough to be used for production.

Check out this post that goes into details about what is gamma versus beta, and this one that gives updates on gamma’s development until it reaches a stable state.

1 Like

@sebscudie thanks for your answer , i think i understand more or less this context of stable vs non stable, but if i explain this in a practical way to some non VVVV lover , this would be a very abstract answer .

maybe ther’s some specific and general topics that are interesting to show in alpha better than in betta ? this is a question to try to give a more solid answer to people even more newbee tan me !! thanks

Well, basically it means that new functionalities that will be available in beta stays in alpha as long as it’s not finished.
Then, a new version of beta is released with all the new shiny stuff that were tested and improved in alpha versions.

These days, dev is more oriented towards the VL programming language, that is also included in beta (see the posts I linked above). So if you wanna test some new features of VL, you should use alpha, or gamma if you don’t need vvvv beta at all.