6dof head tracking?

Hi all,

I’m new to vvvv (Started a couple of days ago) and am already really enjoying it. I’m a 3d animator by trade, and currently putting together a realtime marker based facial motion capture system.

So far, I’m using contour with a webcam altered to work in IR, and tracking reflective markers on my face from an IR led illuminator. Things seem to be working pretty well (still a few issues to iron out) however as the camera is not head-mounted, any head motion results in strange skewing.

My idea for a solution was to track the head motion (position and rotation) and use this to drive a master head bone, with other facial bones following along, still being driven by the facial markers. However, I’m at a loss as to how to do the head tracking.

I noticed the fiducial tracking examples seem to do what I’m after (tracking a rigid object in 3d space) however as I’m working with an IR setup the best I could do is use a rigid box, with the four corners illuminated. This would leave me with 2d tracking data for the 4 corners of the box, however I have no idea how to convert this data to a 3d transform.

Is something like this feasible in vvvv? I’m hoping there’s something obvious I’m missing.

On a related note, is contour what I should be using for the marker tracking? I’m effectively just tracking points, so the contour data itself is of no use. (Just using the centre co-ordinates.)

Woould greatly appreciate any advice on the topic. Thanks in advance.

Jeremy

OK, scratch that. For some reason I had the idea of dots in my head, and didn’t even think of making one of these markers by cutting up some of the reflective material I’m using for the spots into the required pattern.

So, I’m pretty sure that’s solved the initial question! Sometimes you just wind up overlooking the obvious. :-)

Jeremy

hi jeremy,