Random Video Player from .srt subtitles file

Hi there,

I’m totally new to VVVV although I do have some familiarity with MaxMSP/Jitter.

What i’m trying to do is have a patch which reads a subtitles file, and when certain keywords come up in the text it will select a random video from a specific folder and send it to an output. The video is 4k but I have a pretty good graphics card (GeForce GTX 1080).

So basically a stream of data, something that checks to see if any of the words in that line match any of the keywords, if so then make random selection from matching folder, if not then continue to next video in current folder or something like that.

Hope that makes sense. I see there are some tutorials on video playback and selecting a random video index so that shouldn’t be too hard, but it would good if anyone has any ideas on how to read out the subtitles file and check for the matching words>send the trigger to select the video.

Any help very much appreciated,

yo hmihalis1,

Check the help patch of the SRTReader (File) node to read SRT files. Then you could use Sift (String) to search for your words and trigger your logic.

Thanks!

Yes I was looking at both of these objects whilst researching today so good to know I’m on the right track with that. What about random video selection from playlists could you point me to any examples of that?

Can’t think of a premade example somewhere but you could get a random video path at each bang with something like that

Great thanks for your help. I think I have all the components now just have to sit down and figure out how they fit together.

yep, don’t hesitate to post your patch if you get stuck somewhere!

fantastic thanks so much! i definitely will hopefully I can make some good progress today.

Hey so I managed to get the SRTReader and Sift string nodes working the way I need, just need to find a way to loop the SRTReader and set up the random video playlists - do you have any ideas on how to loop it?