IR Camera confusion

Hi

I’m currently working on a project where I need to track peoples bodys / bodyparts.
The general tracking etc works fine, but right now I’m using a normal webcam, and there is the problem with scene-lighting and the contour tracker…
So I was thinking of using an ir camera. But as I’m a total noob concerning cameras and such, I have no idea what I need. I think I read every single page and forum post concerning ir cameras, but I still don’t really know what camera to use. usb, firewire, using a capture card to get the real video signal… I don’t even know what connection I would need. It seems usb might be too slow, but firewire has a very limited cable length, that could be a problem. So, if any of you could point me in the right direction what camera to use I would really appreciate it! Thanks!

Hi Abomb.

If you wanna go IR I recommend getting a unibrain such as this this . This camera gives progressive video which is best for tracking and is B&W which is more sensitive to IR.

You’ll need a lens that doesn’t have a IR filter on it. You’ll have to work out which lens you’ll need depending on requirements for use. i.e. target distance and target width. You’ll also need to buy the case and best to get a tripod so you can attach it to something. Also, you don’t need a power supply for it if you using 6-pin fire-wire. (Generally 4-pin on laptops and 6-pin on desktops, 4-pin doesn’t run power down the cable).

On the scale of things, Firewire and USB aren’t that different really when it comes to cable length. You can buy extenders for them anyway so you can run any length you want.

Good luck

Yepp, this unibrain BW camera has really good quality.
They have a special firewire cable up to 10m length. And camera gets power through it (6-pin). And you always can put an repeater on it to double the length.
Check video and optics page for your desired focal length. Also, check links at this page.