Interactive childrens drawing project through VVVV?

Greetings.

I am a visual artist contemplating a project that is inspired by the collaborative approach of r/Place (for those who frequent Reddit). In short, it is a 2000x2000 pixel canvas that users can fill with pixels in collaboration with each other. A pixel can only be placed by a user every five minutes, and everyone is limited to a predetermined set of 16 colors to choose from.

I was thinking of creating a similar, relational art activity for children in a following manner:

1: Four (or more) joysticks with arcade-type buttons (four buttons for each joystick/user) choosing one of four colours. Each joystick (user) will have four different type colours to choose from (thus opening for collaboration and interaction).
2: A projector is showing a canvas of, say, 230x200 pixels. The joystick will move the colored pixel chosen by the child, until a button is pressed and that places the pixel on the screen. It is like a 2D version of Minecraft, in a way. So its a known format for children these days.
3: In line with the idea of r/Place, a short time delay (10 sec?) before the person can place a new pixel. Children are known to be very patient so this should be no problem ;)

The object is to create dialogue between the users, and a collaborative effort to create “something”. I have been working with joysticks/buttons and USB-adaptors a bit on the Raspberry Pi, so the physical input should be fine.

Now, my question is - is this something you guys think VVVV is suitable to create? I have only dabbled a little in the program, but if you think VVVV is the way to go for this type of project, I will get my hands dirty(er). I am not a programmer, so Im hoping a visual, node based approach might make it slightly easier.

Any input on my first baby steps into this type of venture (or on the concept itself) is greatly appreciated.

Yours
Joerund

That’s like vvvv perfect match ;)