Http POST request with httpWebRequest

Hi everyone, I’m new to VVVV and VL but experienced in other languages (openFrameworks, Processing, Python). I’m trying to build an http POST request that should send a simple JSON to a webserver (which for now is on my local machine).

I looked at the examples and decided to build an asyncTask, which is perfect for HTTP calls. A simple GET, was easy to implement, however I’m struggling to find out how to add content to my POST call. This is my patch:

In order to add a string I used the GetRequestStream node and tried to write the content of an IOBox to the stream. However this doesn’t seem to work. The flow is identical to the one described here:

Also, note that the length of my string inside the asyncTask is 0, while outside it is correctly computed.
What am I doing wrong?

from a quick look at your patch, the order of things is not really clear. you see this yellow warning on the link, it tells you that you might violate the data flow paradigm since you are working with reference types and the order in which nodes get processed is not clear.

so if your types allow it, make a connection from the read node to the GetHttpResponse node so it will be executed after you did the write. of the other way around, depending on what you want to do.

278e3b92ea66bf40830ed71007dc1c70fc71e3d8_fix

Hi Tonfilm,
that’s what I thought I had to do, but when you use getRequestStream you obtain a Resource < stream > instance, which can’t be converted again in a webRequest instance. Hence it looks like there’s no way to fill the stream with data and feed it to the GetHttpResponse node.

However, looking at the C# example, looks like this is the way to do it:

WebRequest request = WebRequest.Create ("http://www.contoso.com/PostAccepter.aspx ");  
        // Set the Method property of the request to POST.  
        request.Method = "POST";  
        // Create POST data and convert it to a byte array.