Angle and distance to connected verices

propably easy, i wanna build a model of a 3d mesh in real. so i was thinking to connect pipes with balls,
by already knowing the angle and distance to the connected vertices. so i can put in the index and
have all the measurement available.

i know vertexbuffer a bit, but how do i know wich ones are connected? than i might be ready to do with myself

the Index buffer contains the information of which vertices are connected with each other.
it defines the triangles by a sequence of integer numbers. 3 consecutive numbers represent the vertex indices of one triangle.

hey Tonfilm,

i studied the vertex buffer node a bit, and i can see that each vertext appeares one time in the position XYZ pin. But i cant find these index buffer pin or node. If i would, i just could look for the appearence of the vertex to find all connections.

Another question, i actually use “distance” and “angle”, the angle node gives me 0 when the angle should be about “0,125”. ( image ) or it has some wierd orientation. This could also happened because i use a decompose transform node.

of you want to have the position of a transformation then you need to do ApplyTransform (Vector) or * (3d) to take all transformations of the matrix into account.

I hope i am not making a complete fool myselfe but the angle should be something close to 0.5 (“fully open” and assuming both vectors are on Z=0 but non of them is at 0,0,0) as with 3d vectors the angles usually limit to 0-0.5 and thats also the limit the formula inside the angle module calculates. This results from the angle beeing just a 2d angle between these vectors on their span plane, right?

see this video and especially from 6:30 how a span plane between 3d vectors looks like.

so this angle node might be not a good approach at all if i understand your question right.

hey there,

thanks so far, i will study this quitely.