Accessing next spread value -- Boids project -- ATTRACTOR

Hey! Sorry for what may be a stupid q but I am a complete newbie…

I am trying to implement a minimum distance check in a thing I am doing. Basically I have a spread of 2d vectors and I want ensure they stay a certain distance apart while in movement. I was just wondering how you can access the N+1 position in a spread?

I want to do a euclidean distance so I need (Xn,Yn) and (Xn+1,Yn+1). So how do you do this for all the spreads?

Any help would be much appreciated!

edit I just found differential! :)

[edit 2](edit 2) Ok I found differential but using this gives distances 1->2, 2->3, etc.

will have to modify it to scan through each spread maybe… Any ideas??

I am trying to do an implementation of the boids algorithm for a college project.

I need this part for the second rule… Pseudo code is below!

Rule 2: Boids try to keep a small distance away from other objects (including other boids).

The purpose of this rule is to for boids to make sure they don’t collide into each other. I simply look at each boid, and if it’s within a defined small distance (say 100 units) of another boid move it as far away again as it already is. This is done by subtracting from a vector c the displacement of each boid which is near by. We initialise c to zero as we want this rule to give us a vector which when added to the current position moves a boid away from those near it.

In pseudocode:

PROCEDURE rule2(boid bJ)

Vector c = 0;

FOR EACH BOID b
		IF b != bJ THEN
			IF |b.position - bJ.position| < 100 THEN
				c = c - (b.position - bJ.position)
			END IF
		END IF
	END

RETURN c

END PROCEDURE

Thanks so much!

hello si.

if your a bit familiar with coding, you should just check out the particles plugin. its a mix between a particle system and the boids algorithm, with only a few changes, it should do what you want.