3D mapping onto threads (wiremap)

Hola!

little intro:
I’m building a big(ger) version of Albert Hwang’s Wiremap design (http://wiremap.phedhex.com/) in short: it’s a couple of hundred threads under tension, arranged in a way that there is one POV-plane from where no thread covers another (thus all threads are visible from that POV).

In order to put content onto the whole thing, i planned on using vvvv. but since i’m new to vvvv, i’d like to ask some pointers. i have lots of experience in coding and learn rather quick, so i hope this problem (described below) will not stress my caffeine intake too much, considering the deadline :)

i read into the shader effects turorials, so i’m kinda familiar with the terminology in that field.

i thought about working on 2 different ways of input:

• calculating the graph of mathematical functions (e.g. 2D over time, etc) and calculate which of the points of the graph hit a string (positions of strings hardcoded?) and desiplays it or not.

• take a any mesh as input and calculate the “visibel parts”, i.e. finding out whether there is a wire for that part to project on.

in general i (think i) need some way to inspect the input, e.g. a 3d mesh in order to find out what parts of the input can be mapped onto a string and finally output a projection that’s split up into 1px rows, each row projecting the image designated for the thread that it will hit. (note: rows not columns because in our setup we tilt the projector 90deg so the strings will run horizontally from the projectors pov)

can this be done as a EX9 Effect; vertex-/pixelshader?
do these sound like reasonable efforts or am i totally off?

thanks in advance for any help, pointers, tips… (:

peace

Why hello there!