Filtering images from websites

Hello!
I’m pretty new to VVVV. I’ve been researching how I could get images from an HTML source and found some posts that have pointed me in the right direction, but didn’t cut it for me. I’m just getting a black renderer.
I want to be able to get images from various news websites, show them in quads and randomize the order. And later create patterns using these images. But for now I need tackle the first issue.
Here are some posts that have given me an insight into how this might work using HTTP (Network Get String Legacy) and RegExpr:

Thanks for your help!
K

You might upload your patch that shows what you did and what is not working.

FlickrAccessWithXPath.v4p (18.7 KB)
Here’s one I’ve been experimenting with. It should be able to search for images as well, but gives me no results.
Thanks

Is this some old example you found in the forum? The xpath query is wrong altogether regarding the document you are loading. Mybe just outdated because flickr changed things over the years. Scraping websites is no fun and likely to break on any minor change of the site. You need to examine the html source and form a query that matches what you are after. If you are not very familiar with html and xpath queries this might be quite a journey.

1 Like

Also flickr seems to do a lot of dynamic loading and obfuscation with java script. For example you might get the images from the search overview quite easy but if you want to get the full res picture you wont find the url in the source code until you click and zoom. Probably there will be similar hassle with other modern sites like the google image search for examle. They just load things dynamically with code to be more efficient.

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response. Yes this is an example I found on the forum - it’s close to what I have intended to do. I want to use images from the front pages of news websites like https://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/