Arduino > Rotary Encoder (Drehimpulsgeber) > Video Speed

Hello, via the serialport RS232 I can read my rotary encoder. I want to use the encoder or the values from it to control the playback speed of a video. Unfortunately I’m a newbie and can’t get it to work yet.

I can see the values of the rotary encoder in vvvv, but I don’t know what to do now:

And here´s my video playback so far:

Please have a look at the “Receiving Data” part of this example:

\girlpower\IO\Arduino\Arduino_without_Firmata.v4p

It should get you starting. And finally you’ll need a Map (Value) Node to convert the range of your incoming value (i’m assuming 0…255) to the range of the Speed input (something like 0…2).

Also, if you’re completely new to vvvv consider starting with the newer version: vvvv gamma for a more modern approach.

My range is from 0…endless, because I have a infinite RotaryEncoder that counts endless. I don´t know how to range this with a Map Node.

My second problem: With Filestream Node and IOBox (with Slider) I cannot control the film speed properly. I need it as follows:
When I turn the Rotary Encoder, the movie should play at the speed that the Rotary Encoder is turned. When I stop turning, the film should stop. The speed of the Rotary Encoder and the speed of the film should be directly coupled.

At the moment it is so, that the film stops as long as I turn the Rotary Encoder. When I then let go, the film plays at the new speed. How can I change it as described above?

ok, so we’re not talking about “Speed” then, but “Postion”. for this case you’ll need to use the Player (EX9.Texture) node instead of the Filestream, because it will let you access individual frames. see its helppatch. also note the node takes a sequence of images rather than a movie.

since we’re not talking speed, but direct access of individual frames, maybe you won’t need the map node at all.